Daddy Promised Me…

I remember the day you left me as I held a sweet grin
I played, I ran, and I jumped as I knew I would see you again
You left in such a hurry, tires squealing and all
I knew sooner than later I would be in your arms stretched tall
I waited just to see you, you promised me after all.

The day was bright and beautiful as it was spring
I wore the prettiest dress and little black shoes
Why daddy why did the phone ring?
Only to give mommy bad news about you

When I saw you again as you were trapped in your car cover in blood
I knew this was a sign up from above.
The angels told me daddy is gone but you promised
How could this be as My daddy promised me?


Leave a Reply

